What’s up summertime?

A little update from my studio:

  • I’m still in the process of binding books. Who would have thought that binding 200 books by hand would take a long time? Ha! I have completed almost 40 books, have another 10 close to done and another 150 to go after that. Last night I finished collating all the books!!! Collating means putting the pages in order. Maybe it doesn’t sound like much, but it’s a dull process which requires a lot of space to lay out all the pages and a lot of time to put them all together. I also made headway on trimming the text blocks (the term for the stack of pages before they are bound). Only 130 blocks left to trim. Ha! It sounds like a lot, but with the beautiful ancient paper trimmer at my studio, it should only take a couple hours of work.
  • I’m still eating great snacks! This is a picture from last week. I neglected to photograph last night’s snack repertoire, which consisted of salt and pepper chips, salt and vinegar chips and dark chocolate with hazelnuts. Yes, two kinds of chips. I had a lot of work to do!
  • At the end of this week, I am leaving for Alaska for a month!! This means that production of books will slow down a bit (meaning they won’t be available online for at least another 6 weeks) but hopefully creative production overall will increase by a million. I’m so excited to hike, kayak, see special people and NOT WORK 40hrs/week!! Wooooo!!!!
  • I spent some time updating my website. Hope you like it! There’s some new content in the Comics, Drawings and Books sections. Check ‘er out!
Leave a Reply

